The Importance of a CHPN

The Certification for Hospice and Palliative Nurses (CHPN) exam is offered by the National Board of Certification of Hospice and Palliative Nurses (NBCHPN). The CHPN exam is a competency-based exam which validates knowledge in hospice and palliative care. In order to be eligible to sit for the exam, nurses must have a valid RN license and at least two years of experience in hospice, palliative care, and/or end of life care. Northern Illinois Hospice believes CHPN designation is a professional milestone all nurses should achieve.

What do nurses gain by obtaining certification in hospice and palliative care?

  • A sense of professional accomplishment
  • Validation of knowledge and skills
  • Demonstration of high professional standards
  • Credibility in our profession
  • Demonstration of a nurse’s professional commitment to hospice and palliative care and end of life care
  • Along with RN’s CHPN certification, the NBCHPN offers certification exams for Licensed Practical Nurses, Certified Nurses’ Aides, Nurse Practitioners, Physicians, and Social Workers. Recertification for each discipline is every four years and requires demonstration in ongoing continuing education related to hospice and palliative care and end of life. RNs also must complete a Situational Judgment Exercise to demonstrate skills in judgment, decision making, and the information gathering process.

    The clinical team at Northern Illinois Hospice strives for the excellence the additional education brings. Eighty percent of Northern Illinois Hospice nurses are CHPN certified.'
    WP-Backgrounds by InoPlugs Web Design and Juwelier Schönmann